Tanya Pearson Academy was represented strongly at this year’s Alana Haines Awards by 13 of its students ranging in ages from 11 to 18yrs.

The biannual AHA Awards is one of the largest competitions in the southern hemisphere, attracting talented aspiring students from all over Australia and New Zealand. The event took place over the Easter long weekend in Wellington NZ with an esteemed jury comprised of Patricia Barker (Artistic Director of The Royal New Zealand Ballet), Lisa Maree Cullum (Former Principal of The Bavarian State Ballet) Richard Bowman (Artistic Director Napa Valley Ballet, California & Ballet master Vitacca Vocational School for Dance, Houston) and HAO BIN Artistic Director of Queensland Dance Centre and Former principal of The National Ballet of China and Queensland Ballet).

We congratulate all our entrants who performed their variations with technique and artistry.

We congratulate our TPA Quarter Finalists: Mia Atkinson, Lucelle Davis, Zoe Monohan and Dayla Bowman.

Three of these students made the Semi Finals: Mia Atkinson, Dayla Bowman and Lucelle Davis.

Long time TPA student Lucelle Davis (12yrs) was selected as one of only 22 Finalists from over 600 entrants and was awarded Overall Runner Up (2nd Place) in the Supreme A Division for AHA 2019! Lucelle performed the Swan Lake Pas des Trois variation along with a contemporary solo choreographed by Adam Blanch.

We congratulate Lucelle on this tremendous achievement! She joins as long list of past Tanya Pearson Academy AHA Awards Winners which includes:

  • Cameron Holmes – Supreme B Runner Up Winner 2017
  • Vida Polakov – Winner Supreme B 2015
  • Katherine Sonnekus – Finalist Supreme B 2015
  • Anyah Siddall – 1st Runner Up Supreme B 2013
  • Emily Seymour – 2nd Runner Up Supreme B 2013
  • Shayarne Matheson – Winner Supreme B 2011


Nullam sit amet felis et arcu elementum sagittis in sit amet turpis.